What is considered reckless driving speed

What is considered reckless driving speed

The most common question I am asked when it comes to reckless driving is when speeding crosses into reckless driving. There is a lot of detail in Washington law regarding reckless driving, and a recent bill passed in the Senate and House may help drivers avoid the charges.

An individual who is recklessly driving is charged with a Class 1 misdemeanor, which is a serious criminal offense. It comes with expensive fines of up to $2500 and a potential jail sentence of up to 12 months, among other penalties. If you think that's a bit extreme for driving too fast, remember that reckless driving covers only the case of exceeding the speed limit.

Regardless of the posted speed limit, reckless driving requires that you exceed the limit by 20 miles per hour or travel 80 miles per hour. As a result, no matter how fast you drive, if you exceed the speed limit, you may face a reckless driving charge. You must obey the speed limit even if you are going slower than posted.

Whenever you find yourself in one of these situations, you will need the assistance of a reckless driving lawyer, since they can reduce your crime to simple speeding if you have a clean record and didn't travel at an excessive speed.

You may also like: What is considered reckless driving in Washington State?

If you have any questions or need help with your Traffic Ticket, DUI, DWI, Criminal Case, Auto Accident or any other related questions, just give us a call at 425-278-9922 or email us at ken@myticketdismissed.com.

Related Categories

Share with Friends

Let our team of experienced Attorneys represent you